Episode 3, Philosophical Counselling

The latest episode of the Unemployed Philosopher’s Podcast is now online! In this episode, I interview Dr. Peter Raabe. You can listen to the episode via the player below:


Dr. Peter Raabe is a philosopher and philosophical counselor who teaches philosophy at the University of the Fraser Valley in British Columbia, Canada. He has published three books: Philosophical Counselling and the Unconscious, Philosophical Counselling: Theory and Practice, and Issues in Philosophical Counselling. He is also the recepient of numerous awards and distinctions, such as being the first Canadian to be awarded a doctorate in philosophical counselling.

We discuss the value of philosophy in addressing mental health issues, how philosophical counselling differs from psychotherapy, how to become a philosophical counselor, and much more. I hope you enjoy it.

8 comments on “Episode 3, Philosophical Counselling

  1. Rob Hutchings says:

    A stimulating blog. I enjoyed the Raabe interview; could the interviewer curtail his use of response term, ‘Excellent’.

    Is he giving a grade to Dr Raabe?

  2. danielmullin81 says:

    Thanks for the comment, Rob. I’m glad you enjoyed the interview. I became conscious that I used ‘excellent’ a lot when I listened back to the podcast. I wasn’t conscious of it at the time. I also noticed that in previous interviews I would say things like ‘that’s great’ or ‘good stuff’ which, imho, was even worse. But I’ll shop around for a new transitional word to use between segments. Thanks again.

  3. I just listened to this podcast while walking through a forest in Lithuania. Very interesting!
    I think I will try this philosophy practice myself once I will graduate from my MA next year. I have already worked as a lawyer for 7 years, most of it in family law, so I am both familiar and comfortable with the situation of counselling clients regarding tough situations and decisions.
    I will ask the clients to take a cigar from the box on the table and relax while we talk or take them on a long walk through the forest, forcing them to turn off their mobile phone. That should make it enjoyable for them.
    Do you know how much Dr Raabe charges?

    • danielmullin81 says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed the podcast, Andreas! Yes, I suspect that your background would be good preparation for philosophical counselling. I don’t have any information about Dr. Raabe’s fee. Perhaps you could explore his website (linked above) or contact him directly for that information. Thanks again for listening.

  4. [...] recommends the book Philosophical Counseling: Theory and Practice by Peter Raabe. Dan also has interviewed Raabe on the topic of philosophical counseling. In the interview Dave recommends Lou Marinoff’s [...]

  5. [...] theories to bear on concrete problems. The list below is from Dr. Peter Raabe’s website (see here for my interview with him) and is an excellent short-list of some of the ethical options on the [...]

Leave a Reply

